The Best Laid Schemes o’ Mice an’ Men

I started this blog a few months back in the naïve hope that I would be able to use it as a place to reflect on my teaching practice. However, life didn’t want to play that way and I ended up quitting my public school job in February. Since then I have been setting up private tuition classes, which aren’t nearly as interesting to blog about, though I still think I should be reflecting on them more than I have been.

I don't know which way I'm going!

I don’t know which way I’m going!

This change in job has also led to another change in my life as I’ve been studying my MA in TESOL, and it is to this that I want to turn my attention for the time being. As I’m exploring various theories and ideas I hope to create a space to air my thoughts, criticisms or conflicts about various ideas, and to see what people have to think about them.

So, as I begin to write about what I’m studying and thinking (and, no doubt, about how my thesis is shaping up), I would love to hear any feedback or constructive criticism about how I’m approaching different issues. Am I missing something? have I misinterpreted an idea? Has someone already written about what I’m working on?

And if you end up reading through my writings and maybe even leaving a comment or two, it is my hope that you, too, can take away an idea or two that you haven’t considered before, and that whatever interaction happens on this blog can be of some interest or help along your teaching or research path.

Now that I’ve given my (second) statement of intent, I need to actually go ahead and write something, huh? Not to worry – I have a plan! I’m gonna kick off with some thoughts about code-switching and whether it has a place in the EFL classroom or not.

Any preliminary thoughts?

One response to “The Best Laid Schemes o’ Mice an’ Men

Leave a Reply

